Home Page

About IPA

Lyrical Iowa Competition

To Order Lyrical Iowa

Other Poetry Contests

Recent and Upcoming Workshops and Events

IPA News & President's Message

To Join IPA

Other Sites

Recent and Upcoming Workshops and Events

IPA Spring Workshop - Sat. April 28th, 2018

At Wesley United Methodist Church - 800 E. 12th Street, Des Moines

If you are new to IPA or have not yet attended one of our semi-annual workshops, here's our usual format:

Any member or non-member planning to attend the workshop may submit a single poem, up to 20 lines, no name on poem sheet, please. Non-members may do so on a first-time visitor basis. One of two qualified critics receives your poem in advance, studies it, writes comments -- some of which may be in addition to those he/she gives verbally at the workshop. Your original poem is returned to you at the end of the day.

Workshop starts promptly at 9:00 a.m. (Registration begins at 8:30 a.m. Coffee & juice will be ready.) Cost of the noon meal is included in your $10.00 fee. If you prefer NOT to eat on site, or if you must cancel--at least 24 hours ahead of time--a workshop fee of $4.00 applies, whether or not you have sent in a poem. However, we encourage you to stay the whole day to get the most benefit from comments on upwards of fifty poems in a variety of forms and content. We usually finish between 3:30 and 4:00 p.m.

A brief business meeting, as necessary, follows the noon recess: Secretary's, Treasurer's, Editor's reports, etc.

You are welcome to bring your own publications for display and/or sale. Each author will be responsible for collecting money and unsold items. Each critic will be invited to read from his/her own work for about 10 minutes after the lunch hour, before workshop is resumed.

Suggestions: You will benefit most from the workshop if you 1) send a poem that you are struggling with, not a "finished" piece of work; 2) come with expectation, prepared to learn from comments about others' poems, too; 3) know that comments by either critics or workshoppers can be sifted and applied, or not, as YOU choose.

Submissions must be postmarked April 2nd, 2018 remembering:

  • no identification on the poem sheet
  • 20-line limit
  • include check (made out to Iowa Poetry Association) for lunch/workshop reservation

Send poem and check to Marilyn J Baszczynski, 16096 320th Way, Earlham IA 50072.

NEW: You may also submit your poem electronically to ipa@iowapoetry.com. Type or copy your poem into the body of the email (NO ATTACHMENTS). Include your name, address and phone number and you may pay the $10 workshop fee at registration.

Critics: Jim Coppoc and Debra Marquart. Both Jim and Debra have been IPA critics in the past, and we are happy to have them return.

Jim Coppoc is an award-winning writer, teacher and performer and the author of two books and three chapbooks of poetry, a blended-genre lyric memoir and several plays. Coppoc has recently been getting a lot of good attention from the literary world, with four Pushcart nominations for both poetry and nonfiction. Among other projects, Jim teacher Film, Literature and American Indian Studies at Iowa State University; plays bass in the Gatehouse Saints and huitar/keys/vocals in Love Rhino; blogs for Coal Hill Review; and lives in Ames, Iowa with his two sons.

Debra Marquart is the author of six books including,Small Buried Things: Poems (2015), The Horizontal World: Growing Up Wild in the Middle of Nowhere (2007), and a co-edited anthology of experimental writing, Nothing to Declare: A Guide to the Prose Sequence(2016). She teaches nonfiction in the Stonecoast MFA program at the University of Southern Maine, and directs the MFA Program in Creative Writing and Environment at Iowa State University. The Senior Editor of Flyway: Journal of Writing & Environment, Marquart has delivered over 250 invited readings and keynotes at universities and conferences from New York and Washington to Greece and Ireland. Her work has been featured on three NPR programs-- em>Morning Edition, The Writer's Almanac, and On Poiny--and the BBC.  She is the recipient of over 50 grants and awards including an NEA Fellowship, a PEN USA Nonfiction Award, and Elle Magazine's Elle Lettres Award.  Her environmental poem, "Lament," was recently honored by inclusion in Best American Poetry 2016.

IPA Fall Workshop - Sat. Oct. 28th, 2017

Critics Rustin Larson and Barbara Lau with readers Virginia Mortenson and Max Molleston.

"Thank-you Lucille" Celebration, Saturday September 16th 2017

A big THANK YOU to all who attended our open house in appreciation of Lucille Morgan Wilson's dedication to Iowa Poetry Association, to thank her for over 28 years as Editor-in-Chief of Lyrical Iowa, not to mention a stint as IPA Hospitality Chair, Treasurer and President. Her contribution in support of poetry in Iowa is huge.

NFSPS Annual Convention - June 29-July 2, 2017

This year's National Federation of State Poetry Societies Annual Convention was held in Fort Worth, Texas, hosted by the Poetry Society of Texas (Budd Powell Mahan, President). Three IPA members, Linda Harris, Pat Underwood and Lucille Morgan Wilson attended the numerous panels, discussions, writing workshops, readings, dinners and other activities organized for the convention. (Photos by Pat Underwood)

Poetree: reading haiku to each other and hanging them in a tree
Some of the unusual sights while touring around the convention.

Congratulations to the following Iowan poets who won at total of 14 awards in the 2017 NFSPS Contests announced during the convention: Marjorie Dohlman, John McBride, Gloria Milbrath, Virginia Mortenson, Pat Underwood, Brian Volz, Lucille Morgan Wilson and Mary Zachmeyer.

Please consider joining the Iowa delegation to Denver for the 2018 NFSPS Convention, May 31-June 3. Start working now and enter your best poems before the March 15, 2018 contest deadline. Check the NFSPS website and IPA mailings for more information

IPA Spring Workshop - Sat. Apr. 29th, 2017

Critics Jeanne Emmons and Kyle McCord with readers Virginia Mortenson and Max Molleston.

IPA Fall Workshop - Sat. Oct. 29th, 2016

Readers Virginia Mortenson and Max Molleston with critics Heather Derr-Smith and Paul Brooke
Editor-in-Chief Lucille Morgan Wilson

Home| About IPA| Lyrical Iowa| To Order Books| Other Poetry Contests| Recent and Upcoming Workshops and Events| IPA News & President's Message| To Join IPA| Other Sites|